The Highest Standards for Security

Certification authority users require assurance that their provider consistently meets the highest standards for security. That’s why HydrantID™ has partnered with QuoVadis which maintains a wide array of accreditations of its certification authority operations, including the WebTrust and WebTrust for Extended Validation as well as specific national certifications as a Qualified Certification Services Provider.

Learn more about our partner, QuoVadis and view accreditations here:


WebTrust for CAs is the dominant commercial standard to assess the adequacy and effectiveness of controls deployed by a Certification Authority. Developed and managed jointly by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants (CICA), WebTrust for CAs requires an annual audit.

WebTrust for Extended Validation

WebTrust for Extended Validation is used to assess a CA’s controls against the CA/B Forum “Guidelines for the Issuance and Management of EV Certificates.” Only suitably accredited CAs may issue EV SSL. WebTrust for EV requires an annual audit.

Bermuda Authorised Certification Services Provider

The Bermuda Authorised Certification Service Provider (CSP) accreditation is granted by the Ministry of Energy, Telecommunications and E-Commerce based on an external review defined in the Bermuda Electronic Transactions Act. The CSP standard includes elements of ISO 17799 (Code of Practice for Information Security Management), EESSI (European Electronic Signature Standardisation Initiative), and WebTrust for CAs. It requires biennial certification.

ZertES Qualified Certification Services Provider

ZertES is granted by the Swiss Accreditation Service (SAS) and the Swiss Federal Office of Communications (BAKOM) based on an audit by KPMG. It is based on Swiss law and on ETSI standards for Qualified Certification Service Providers (CSP) and Time Stamping Authorities. It requires an annual audit.


The EUGridPMA coordinates the trust fabric for e-Science Grid authentication in Europe. QuoVadis operates a managed CA for EuroGridPMA members that is accredited to meet the Authentication Profile of the International Grid Trust Federation (IGTF). Other IGTF members include APGridPMA for the Asia-Pacific region and TAGPMA for the Americas.

Netherlands and EU Qualified Certification Services Provider

QuoVadis is certified by BSI for compliance with Dutch and European law (TTP.NL Scheme for Certification Authorities against the requirements of the ETSI TS 101 456 standard for Qualified Certification Service Providers). The certification requires an annual audit of QuoVadis.